Posted on Thu 5 Oct 2017, 01:23 PM

Two members of the House of Representatives, Zephaniah Jisalo and Yusuf Ahmed Tijjani have defected from the People's Democratic Party, PDP to the governing All Progressives Congress APC.

The duo informed the house of their defection in a letter read on the floor, on Thursday, by the speaker, Yakubu Dogara.
Mr. Jisalo is representing AMAC/Bwari federal constituency of the FCT while Yusuf Tijani represents the Okene/Ogori-Magogo federal constituency of Kogi State.  They attributed their defections to various divisions in the state chapters of the PDP.

In a swift reaction, the minority whip of the house, Umar Barde cited Section 68 of the constitution which states that a legislator will automatically vacate his seat if he/she leaves his political party without division.

But the speaker ruled that the court will decide the fate of the defected members.

Representative Edward Pwajok from Plateau, Hassan Sales from Benue and Adamu Kamale from Adamawa State brings the number of defected lawmakers to five in the year 2017.


Add new comment

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.
Get the Latest News updates from Homeland New. Read more
Phone: +234 818 217 4858


Subscribe to our Newsletter to get latest updates!

Connect With Us