Posted on Thu 15 Aug 2019, 05:03 PM

The European football governing body  UEFA, have  publish  the final list of players  that will be vying to win this year's men footballer of the year award   with Virgil van Dijk of Liverpool ready to battle Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo for the prestigious award.

Van Dijk, 28  is representing the EPL  for the award after playing an influential role in Liverpool winning the UEFA  champions league  and UEFA Super Cup.

He was also in the team that narrowly missed out on winning the EPL last season  after finishing  just one point behind the eventual champion Manchester city,  while captaining his Holland team to the UEFA Nations League final where they were beaten by  Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal.

Lionel Messi finished top scorer  in the UEFA Champions League and picked up the European Golden Shoe, as he  also won his 10th La Liga title with Barcelona.

Cristiano  Ronaldo  won his first Serie A title with Juventus after his big money  move from Real Madrid, scoring 28 times to help his team retain their serie A title.

He also led Portugal to Nations League glory, where he was named top scorer at the finals.

The winner of the award will be revealed  during the Champions League draw on August 29.


Add new comment

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.
Get the Latest News updates from Homeland New. Read more
Phone: +234 818 217 4858


Subscribe to our Newsletter to get latest updates!

Connect With Us