saraki announced chairmen of four committees,

President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki has announced the constitution of special committees and one ad-Hoc committee.

In Wednesday’s plenary, Senator Saraki told the senators that Babajide Omoworare will chair the Rule and Business Committee while Samuel Anyanwu sits over the Ethics and Privileges Committee.

The committee on Senate Services will be headed by Abdullahi Gobri with Dino Melaye serving as Chairman of the ad-hoc committee on Publicity.

This announcement is in consonance with order 96 of the senate standing rule to constitute special committees within the first fourteen legislative days following the first sitting of the Senate. 

The remaining special committees to be announced are committee on Public Accounts and National Security Intelligence. 
Meanwhile, President of the Senate said the Senate will be screening the newly appointed service chiefs on Thursday. 

President Muhammadu Buhari had on Tuesday sent a letter to the senate requesting the screening and approval of the appointments announced on the 13th of July.

The service chiefs to be screened are  Major General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin as Chief of Defence Staff; Major General Yusuf Tukur Buratai as Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Ibot Ekwe-Ebas, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Vice Marshal Sadiq Baba Abubabar, as Chief of Air Staff.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here