The National leadership of the APC has congratulated Governor Godwin Obaseki for his victory in the just concluded election in Edo state. 

A statement signed by the Chairman of the party’s Caretaker Extraordinary/Convention Planning Committee, Mai Mala Buni, says APC is joining Pres. Buhari in recognizing the election as conducted and won.

“As a party, we join our leader, President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR, to affirm our ‘commitment to free and fair elections’ in order to strengthen ‘the foundation for our political and moral authority’. We commend INEC, our security agencies and all political parties that contested the election for the successful conduct of the election. As a governing party, we will take every step necessary to support the Federal Government to consolidate all the gains achieved.”

APC salutes the tenacity of it candidate and the commitment of all that worked for its interest during the election
“We, in particular want to salute our candidate in the election, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamuh for his tenacity and leadership. We similarly commend our Edo State leaders, especially our immediate past National Chairman, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole and all our members in Edo State for demonstrating unwavering support for our party and our candidate in the election. In the face of all the challenges, we collectively remained faithful and worked tirelessly during the campaigns.”

The statement said it is now time to shift attention to the election coming up in Ondo in October.

“We urge our candidate and all our members to join us in congratulating Mr. Godwin Obaseki and the PDP, being the declared winner of the election.

“We will work hard to win the Ondo election. Having reaffirmed our commitment to free and fair elections, it is our expectation that all opposition parties in the country will also commit themselves to free and fair contests. We will therefore accordingly expect congratulatory message from all parties just as we similarly guarantee that once we are defeated in a fair contest, we will congratulate the winner,” APC said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here