Home Education 37 new private universities get provisional licenses

37 new private universities get provisional licenses


37 newly established universities by the Federal Executive Council were on Friday presented with provisional licenses by the National Universities Commission (NUC)

Speaking during the occasion, the Executive Secretary, NUC, Prof Abubakar Rasheed stated that the number of private universities in the country is 147 while the country now has 264 universities.

He also said:”The Nigerian statistics of high demand of tertiary education is grossly inadequate. Statistics put the number of enrollment in tertiary institutions at 2.23 million which is about 12 per cent of the total population of 220 million.”

”In establishing universities, you don’t expect to get financial rewards. If your main motive is to make money, then you are in the wrong place. You are here to pay back to humanity.

“The establishment of private universities is in dire need of passion from people, so that passion should drive you.”

While assuring the proprietors of the commission’s support and cooperation to grow the university system, he also charged them on quality assurance in the universities.

The lists of the newly licensed private universities are:
Rayhaan University, Kebbi state
Muhammad Kamalu-Deen University, Kwara state
Sam Maris University, Ondo state
Aletheia University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun state.
Lux Mundi University, Abia state
Maduka University, Enugu state
Peaceland University, Enugu state
Amadeus University, Abia state
Vision University , Ogun state
Azman University, Kano state
Huda University, Zamfara state
Franco British International University, Kaduna
Canadian University of Nigeria, FCT.
Miva Open University, FCT
Gerar University of Medical Sciences, Ogun state
British Canadian University, Cross River state
Hensard University, Bayelsa State
Phoenix University, Nasarawa State
Wigwe University, Rivers state
Hillside University of Science and Technology, Ekiti state.
University of the Niger, Anambra state
Elrazi University of Medical Sciences, Kano state
Venite University, Ekiti state
Shanahan University, Anambra state
The Duke Medical University, Cross River state
Mercy Medical University, Osun State
Cosmopolitan University, FCT
Iconic Open University, Sokoto State
West Midland Open University, Oyo State
Amaj University
Prime University, FCT
El-Amin University, Niger state
College of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Kaduna state



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here