Amaju Pinnick - shengolpixs-001

The Delta Sports Commission chairman, Amaju Pinnick has emerged as the new president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

He came out victorious at the end of the second round of voting in the federation election held today in Warri, Delta state defeating Amanze Uchegbulam, Mike Umeh and others in the race.

However, in the first round, Pinnick took the lead with 25 votes, while Taiwo Ogunjobi from Osun polled 9 votes. Dominic Iorfa from Benue State was able to get 6 votes. while Shehu Diko from Kaduna had only 4 votes.

Amanze Uchegbulam, Imo and Mike Umeh Anambra had no vote.

Pinnick, Iorfa and Ogunjobi then went head-to-head in the second round, to determine the winner of the election via simple majority. At the end the second round, Pinnick polled 32 votes, Iorfa got 8 votes, while Ogunjobi had 4 votes. 

The Delta state born sports administrator who is also chairman of Football Association in the area is taking over from Alhaji Maigari whose tenure just ended under controversy.

In his brief speech the new NFF boss, said “I am so excited winning the election and I will make sure I lift Nigerian football high when I assume office,”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here