From Ejike Chinedu, Lagos

Speaker of the Ekiti State House of Assembly, Adewale Omirin has demanded a publication of the list of the 10 members of the house that purportedly approved the nominees for commissioners and caretaker chairmen for the 16 local government area in the state. 

Mr. Omirin was speaking in reaction to the claim that 10 members of the house sat to approve the nominees. He alleged that it was 7 members that were smuggled into the assembly chambers and protected by over 200 armed policemen. The speaker claimed that when the other members who were not part of the plot attempted to go into the assembly chambers, they were stopped by the policemen. 

 Meanwhile, the State Governor, Ayodele Fayose has sworn-in the 16 local government caretaker committee chairmen and members

The swearing-in ceremony took place Abiodun Adetiloye hall, Ado Ekiti, the state capital.

This followed the approval of commissioner nominees, Special Advisers and the
Local Government Caretaker Committees by disputed 10 lawmakers at the house of assembly.

The process of approving the nominees however has been described as a smooth coup within the legislative arm.  Either 7 or10 out of the 26 members met without the speaker or the deputy where they appointed a protem speaker and went ahead to clear the nominees. The governor had on November 1 sent a letter to the House requesting the approval.

During the swearing-in ceremony, the Governor, Ayodele Fayose said necessary measures would be put in place to conduct local government election in the state to fast track development at the grassroots

Fayose maintained that he became the governor through the support of the people hence the need to reciprocate the gesture. The Governor charged the newly caretaker chairmen to put in their best in moving the state forward

At about 5.30pm same day, the governor moved to another venue, the Executive Chambers of the Governor office, where he administered the oath of office to 3 commissioners.

The three persons are, Chief Toyin Ojo as commissioner for Finance, Mr. Kayode Oso is to serve as commissioner for Works and Mr Owoseni Ajayi as Anthony General and commissioner for justice. They were some of the Governor’s old hands during his first administration

Governor Ayodele Fayose charged them to continue to formulate and implement programmes that would improve the lives of Ekiti citizens as contained in the cardinal points developmental initiative of the present administration

He charged them to see their appointment as a call to serve the people of Ekiti State stressing that the present administration needs the experienced and trusted hands to make a difference particularly at this challenging period

It may not be clear how the other 16 members of the house led by the substantive speaker will react to this development which obviously is orchestrated to “cut them to size”.  If they approach a court, which is the most civil option, it may trigger another drama of thugs invading the court and harassing a judge. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here