yemi alade wins

It was not a  bad outing for Nigerian artistes at the 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards, which held on Saturday night,  in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Afro-pop singer, Wizkid took the lead with two personal award and another for best collaboration. He took the award for the ‘best male’ and overall ‘best artiste’.

Other Nigerians who came on the award table include Patoranking with his My Woman as the ‘Song of the Year’.  Yemi Alade won the ‘Best Female Act’  and Tekno went home with ‘Best breakthrough Act’ award.

Here’s the full list of winners.

Best Live Act – Casper Nyovest

Best Group – Sauti Sol

Best Alternative/Pop Group – Shekinah & Kyle Deutsch

Best Female Act – Yemi Alade

Best International Artiste – Drake

Listener’s Choice award – Jay Prayzah

Legend Award – Hugh Masekela

Best Lusophone Act – C4 Pedro

Best Francophone Act – Serge Beynaud

Best Male Artiste – Wizkid

Best Collaboration – DJ Maphorisa ft Wizkid

Best Video – Youssoupha

Personality of The Year – Caster Semenya

Best Hip Hop – Emtee

Best Breakthrough Act – Tekno

Song Of The Year – Patoranking ft Wande Coal ‘My woman My everything’-Winner.

African Artiste of The Year – Wizkid



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here