federal capital territory

One month to the inauguration of the APC-led Government, the Federal Government has dished out honours in recognition of the contributions of past and current office holders to national development

The Government through the FCT Administration on Monday named major streets in Asokoro Extension, Guzape, Wupa, Wuye and Maitama Extension districts as well as expressways and roads after eminent Nigerians and other accomplished African leaders.

FCT Minister, Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed who disclosed this during the FCT Executive Committee meeting reeled out the names of the honorees to include; President Goodluck Jonathan, Vice President Namadi Sambo, former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, former President of the Senate, late Dr. Chuba Okadigbo, former Speaker of House of Representatives and Katsina State Governor-elect, Hon. Aminu Bello Masari,

Others are former Chief Justice of the Federation, Justice Dahiru Musdapha, Business moguls, Femi Otedola , Aliko Dangote and several others.

Statement signed Special Assistant on  Media to the Minister of FCT, Nosike Ogbuenyi, hinted that soon-to-be commissioned Inner Southern Expressway which dissects Abuja city centre was named after President Jonathan while the longest Wuye district boulevard express road was named after Dr. Atiku Abubakar.

Another major road in the same district was named after Vice President Namadi Sambo.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here