APC may be getting close to having a consensus candidate for the position of National Chairman at the ongoing National Convention of the party in Abuja.

Six Aspirants agreed to step down for President Muhammadu Buhari’s choice, a former governor of Nasarawa state, Abdullahi Adamu.

Up till few hours ago, efforts to have avoid actual contest at the convention seemed impossible as some of the aspirants insisted on going out to the field, even if they fail.

The situation made the unity list of officials for the national executive of the party difficult

Those who agreed to bow to the pressure from the party to allow the President’s preferred candidate emerge are former Nasarawa state governor, Tanko Al-Makura, former Benue state governor George Akume, and former Zamfara state governor Abdul’aziz Yari.

Others are Kwara state politician, Saliu Mustapha, Niger state senator Sani Musa, and Muhammed Etsu

Ratification of other positions is expected to commence shortly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here