Home Politics Prof Onyebuchi Chukwu adds to the list of former ministers who lost...

Prof Onyebuchi Chukwu adds to the list of former ministers who lost in primaries

prof chukwu 2

From Paul Ibe, Enugu

Deputy Governor of Ebonyi State, Dave Umahi, has emerged the gubernatorial flag bearer of the Peoples Democratic Party, in the party’s primaries held in Abakaliki, the state capital.

After Monday’s gubernatorial primary of the PDP in Ebonyi State, it is no longer clear if Prof. Onyebuchi Chukwu made the best decision by resigning as the minister of health to seek elective office as the governor of Ebonyi State.  At the build up to the primary, the Ebonyi state chapter of the PDP was split into two over the selection of Prof.  Chukwu as the consensus candidate of the party.  

Prof. Chukwu was chosen by the state governor but was rejected by key leaders of the party who consider him too new to enjoy the benefit of membership

The primaries which took place at the Abakaliki Township Stadium was contested by eight (8) governorship aspirants.

They are Engr. Dave Umahi, Engr. Paul Okorie, Dr. Aja Nwachkwu, Chief Hycinth Ikpo, Senator Paulinus Igwe Nwagu, Chief Michael Ude Udumanta, Senator Offia Nwali and Prof Onyebuchi Chukwu  who boycotted the exercise alongside the state governor, Martin Elechi.

Chairman of the governorship electoral panel and Governor of Ekiti State, Ayo Fayose declared the Deputy Governor who polled 541 votes out of 592 votes cast as winner.

Other members of the Electoral Panel include: Barr Chineneye Oji, Hajia Hauwa Kida, the PDP state Chairman, Hon. Onwe Joseph Onwe and Hon. Deinma Iyalla.

In his remarks, the Deputy Governor had dedicated the victory to God, stressing that his loyalty to Governor Martin Elechi remained intact even as he asked the Governor to forgive him in anyway he may have wronged him in the course of the whole exercise.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here