The Senate on Wednesday considered the request of President Goodluck Jonathan for the confirmation of Munir Haliru Gwarzo for appointment as Director General for the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC) in accordance with Section 5(1) of the Investments and Security Act, 2007.

The Senate also considered the request of Mr. President for the confirmation of eight nominees for appointment as Chairman and Members of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria in accordance with section 3(2) of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria (Establishment) Act, 2006

The nominees are Abudllahi Muktar Muhammad as Chairman of the commission, while Yusuf Adebayo Ibrahim and Abdullahi Modibbo Saleh as Executive Commissioner respectively.

Others are Alhaji Ibrahim Ezeani, Adeyemi Ademoola Fuad, Alhaji Enewari Zikey, Ada Mohammed Ka’oje, Hajiya Aisha Mohammed and Danjuma Salihu as Non Executive Commissioners.

Their names have been forwarded to the Committee on Foreign Affairs for further legislative action within 7 days.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here