Yaya Toure was on Thursday named the Glo/CAF African Footballer of the Year beating Nigeria’s Vincent Enyeama and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang in the process.
The Ivory Coast and Manchester City player became the first African to win the award in four straight years.
Nigerians who were full of expectations were compensated with the Woman Player of the Year award which went expectedly to Asisat Oshoala. She was the Highest Goal Scorer and Most Valuable Player at the 2014 FIFA U20 championship held in Canada. The Rivers Angels player was also the MVP of the African Women Championship in Namibia last year.
African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) was won by Firmin Mubele Ndombe of the DR Congo.
Algeria won the National Team of the Year (Men). The North Africans were clearly the best African team at the 2014 World Cup after the Nigerian and Ghanaian teams were consumed by fights over dollars.
Super Falcons beat the Falconets and Cameroon to win the Team of the Year (Women).
The Club of the Year award went Es Setif of Algeria.
The CAF Fair Play Award renamed after Late Cameroonian Albert Ebosse is not up for grabs this year till next edition. The Most Promising Talent award was won by Yacine Brahimi of Algeria. He was ahead of Cameroon duo of Clinton N’jie and Vincent Aboubakar.
Kheireddine Madoui of Algeria’s ES Setif was named the Coach of the Year while Papa Bakary Gassama was voted as the Referee of the Year.
African Legend award was shared by Cameroon’s Oryx Club Class of 1964 and Stade Malien of Mali.
Nigeria pair Vincent Enyeama and Ahmed Musa made the African team XI. Moise Katumbi of DR Congo and owner of TP Mazembe got the African Football Leader award while CAF Platinum award went to Nigeria President Goodluck Jonathan and Ghana FA president Kwesi Nyantakyi.

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Ndombe Mubele (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala

Youth Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala

Most Promising Talent
Yacine Brahimi

Coach of the Year
Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif)

National Team of the Year

Women’s National Team of the Year

Club of the Year
ES Setif

Referee of the Year
Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here